Posted by: Titus Presler | January 14, 2010

Haitian church struggles after earthquake; Episcopal missionaries survive

Episcopal missionary the Rev. Lauren Stanley circulated further news of the post-earthquake situation in Haiti this morning at 7:42 a.m., including word that the two Young Adult Service Corps missioners,  Mallory Holding and Jude Harmon, have been located alive.  Readers of Forward Day by Day, a daily devotional published by Forward Movement Publications, will be interested to know that Stanley is the author of the January meditations, written while she was still a missionary in Sudan.  Her news circular from this morning follows:

Dear Friends in Christ:

As you can imagine, the last 36 hours have been filled with uncertainty, fear and prayers. I have been trying to work with The Episcopal Church both here in the U.S. and in Haiti (the latter is quite limited contact, of course). And I have not been able to keep everyone updated via email.

Please know that I am putting as much information as possible on my website, http://www.gointotheworld.net <http://www.gointotheworld.net> , and using facebook for other updates. Right now, those are probably the best ways to keep track of what I know.

The good news is that yesterday evening, we were able to hear from two of our missionaries, Mallory Holding and Jude Harmon, and received news of Pere Oge Beauvoir, and his wife, Serette. All have been found and are alive. What happens next for them we don’t know yet.

I have heard from one dear friend, Pere Kesner Ajax, who is attempting to drive from Les Cayes to Port au Prince today to help. We know that Bishop [Zaché Duracin] is alive, and that his wife was injured in the quake. They have lost their home.  I do not know the fate of my other colleagues, my friends, my students, my parish or my home. I live and serve in Petion Ville, above Port au Prince. The area has been quite hard hit, but last night I received news that the hotel across the street from my parish is still standing, and that indeed, some visiting missionaries are there right now. But I have not been able to be in contact with those folks, so I’ve no more information on that front.

Also, I do not know what the future holds for me. I desperately want to return to Haiti, to work on the relief efforts. But right now, it seems that at least some of my work is here. Until I am able to speak with Bishop Duracin, I will keep working from the United States.

I ask you to continue praying for our brothers and sisters in Haiti, and to help in any way you can. Episcopal Relief & Development is already sending aid, and will continue to do so for a very long time. It is an excellent aid organization; please give generously to help the people of Haiti. (www.er-d.org <http://www.er-d.org> )

And know that the Church is alive and well in Haiti, that God is present, and the people, although in desperate need, have not lost hope.

Blessings and peace,

Lauren

The Rev. Lauren R. Stanley
TEC Appointed Missionary in Haiti
Haiti address: 86 Rue Riguad
Petion Ville, Haiti, WI
Haiti mobile: 011 509 3685 8329
US address; 3820 Acosta Rd.
Fairfax, VA 22031
US mobile: 703-678-3892 (used only in US)
MereLaurenS@gmail.com
http://GoIntoTheWorld.net

Share

Responses

  1. I’ve been reading this month in Forward Day by Day about your [Lauren Stanley’s] missionary work in Sudan. In fact, I’ve felt very connected to your messages. You write beautifully. I felt I had lost a friend when the earthquake struck in Haiiti, and I wanted to find out if you were still alive. I didn’t know whom to contact. I’m a member of the Washington Cathedral’s new congregation within the cathedral. I’m taking a DOCC course this winter on Tuesday nights, and I spoke about my worry to the group that Peter was facilitating. After I spoke he told me that he had dinner with you the preceding week. It was a miracle that I was in his group and he knew you were alive. God bless you, and I am so relieved. Now I must help in what every way that I can. I’ve already sent money. What can we do besides pray for the people and their spirit? DGT


Leave a Reply

Categories

